Winners announced for the GWS Excellence Awards 2021

The winners of the inaugural NFGWS Group Water Scheme Excellence Awards have been revealed in a special announcement by Minister for Housing, Local Government and Heritage, Darragh O’Brien TD.

An independent, expert panel presided over entries across four different categories, with excellence flags being awarded to group water schemes that achieved a required standard. The panel also chose an overall winner for each category, with Minister O’Brien announcing the victors at the close of this year’s Rural Water Webinar.

The Heath Group Water Scheme, Co. Laois, was crowned the winner of the ‘Quality Assurance and Water Safety Planning’ category, while West Limerick Group Water Scheme, Co. Limerick won the ‘Water Demand Management and Climate Action’ category.

Mid-Roscommon Group Water Scheme, Co. Roscommon was a winner in two different categories, namely ‘Biodiversity Enhancement’ and ‘Community Engagement.’

Minister O’Brien congratulated the winners for their “incredible hard work and leadership” and described the awards as a “brilliant way to celebrate group water schemes that are operating to the highest possible standards.”

NFGWS CEO, Barry Deane, expressed his delight at the success of the first year of the awards, saying:

“Massive congratulations to very deserving winners in each category and to the group water schemes that have achieved excellence flags.

“On behalf of the Federation, I’d like to commend all those who took the time to submit an award entry and I wish to sincerely thank the external judging panel for all their time and dedication. These awards are just recognition for the hard work of the group water scheme sector all around the country and we look forward to crowning more winners in the years to come.”

Overall, 17 excellence flags were awarded to group water schemes for reaching a high standard within a category. Special mention must also go to Tydavnet GWS, Co. Monaghan, as the only group water scheme to win a flag in all four categories.

The excellence flag recipients are (in alphabetical order):

Quality Assurance & Water Safety Planning
  • Glencorrib GWS, Co. Mayo
  • Kilcredan GWS, Co. Cork
  • The Heath GWS, Co. Laois
  • Tydavnet GWS, Co Monaghan
Water Demand Management & Climate Action
  • Ballinabranna GWS, Co. Carlow
  • Glinsk Creggs GWS, Co. Galway
  • Glynn St. Mullins GWS, Co. Carlow
  • Meath Hill GWS, Co. Meath
  • Tydavnet GWS, Co. Monaghan
  • West Limerick GWS, Co. Limerick
Biodiversity Enhancement
  • Corracreigh GWS, Co. Roscommon
  • Mid-Roscommon GWS, Co. Roscommon
  • Tydavnet GWS, Co. Monaghan
  • West Limerick GWS, Co. Limerick
Community Engagement
  • Belcarra GWS, Co Mayo
  • Mid-Roscommon GWS, Co. Roscommon
  • Tydavnet GWS, Co Monaghan