The 2021 NFGWS Group Water Scheme Excellence Awards

Coinciding with World Water Day, 22 March, the NFGWS launched an exciting new initiative, the 'Group Water Scheme Excellence Awards’. This is a NFGWS competition that any affiliated scheme can enter. 

The group water scheme sector has always shown innovation, leadership and demonstrated a willingness to embrace change since its inception in the 1960s. While the core goal of group water schemes — namely the provision potable drinking water to rural communities — has remained the same, the world has transformed at an increasingly rapid pace over the intervening period. Nevertheless, GWS committees and members have continually risen to the task.

Schemes demonstrate on a regular basis how they excel in overcoming challenges in relation to legislation, operations, and administration. Whether it be technological advances, environmental changes or new ways of thinking, those involved in group water schemes have shown exemplary innovation and foresight on countless occasions.

Since its inception, the board and staff of the National Federation of Group Water Schemes (NFGWS) provides support and guidance to the GWS sector and it now wants to recognise the efforts of schemes that have excelled in achieving high standards.

The aim of the excellence awards is to recognise the hard work and initiative being shown by group water schemes across the country.

Excellence Awards

The Group Water Scheme Excellence Awards is being launched by the NFGWS to provide individual schemes the opportunity to demonstrate how they have achieved best practice under four categories. These categories are:

1) Water Safety Planning & Quality Assurance
2) Water Demand Management & Climate Action
3) Biodiversity Enhancement
4) Community Engagement

Schemes can enter under one or multiple categories. Participating schemes that meet a minimum standard in each category will receive a flag demonstrating their excellence in that area. An overall group water scheme winner within each category will be chosen by an independent adjudicating panel and will be presented with a special plaque to recognise their achievement.

To enter, please download an application form here and return it to your local NFGWS Development Officer by email or post. Closing date for applications is 5pm on Friday 28 May.