Application window extended for GWS Excellence Awards 2023


We have extended the deadline for applications for the GWS Excellence Awards 2023. Group water schemes now have until 5pm on Friday 16 June to submit an entry.

The Awards returns for its third year, celebrating the efforts of community-owned group water schemes around the country and the vital role they play in their respective localities.

With this year’s edition launched during the National Federation of Group Water Schemes’ Annual Delegate Conference, the awards is open to all NFGWS affiliated schemes. Individual GWSs have the opportunity to demonstrate how they have achieved best practice under four categories. The four categories are:

  • Water Safety Planning & Quality Assurance
  • Water Demand Management & Climate Action
  • Biodiversity Enhancement
  • Community Engagement

Schemes can enter under one or multiple categories. The awards will be judged by an independent, expert adjudicating panel and those that meet a set standard in a specific category will receive an excellence flag and commemorative plaque to highlight their achievement. An overall group water scheme winner within each category will be also presented with a special trophy.

To enter, please download an application form here and return it to your local NFGWS Development Officer by email or post. More information on this year's awards can be found here and closing date for applications is 5pm on Friday 16 June.

Last year's category winners

Water Safety Planning & Quality Assurance - Ballinabranna GWS, Co. Carlow

Water Demand Management & Climate Action - Mid-Roscommon GWS, Co. Roscommon

Biodiversity Enhancement - Magheracloone GWS, Co. Monaghan

Community Engagement - Crosserlough GWS, Co. Cavan