Applications invited for 2022 GWS Excellence Awards

The application window for the 2022 Group Water Scheme Excellence Awards is officially open.

With this year’s edition launched during the National Federation of Group Water Schemes’ (NFGWS) Annual Delegates Conference, the awards programme is open to all NFGWS affiliated schemes. Its aim is to recognise to the efforts of community-owned group water schemes around the country and the vital role they play in their respective localities.

In similar fashion to the 2021 edition of the awards, applications are invited across four different categories. These are:

1) Quality Assurance & Water Safety Planning
2) Water Demand Management & Climate Action
3) Biodiversity Enhancement
4) Community Engagement

Schemes can enter under one or multiple categories. The awards will be judged by an independent, expert adjudicating panel and those that meet a set standard in a specific category will receive an excellence flag and commemorative plaque to highlight their achievement. An overall group water scheme winner within each category will be also presented with a special trophy.

Last year saw 17 flags awarded to those who reached the excellence standard, with Minister for Housing, Local Government and Heritage, Darragh O’Brien TD, revealing the winners during the NFGWS Rural Water Webinar in September. The overall category winners were The Heath GWS, Co. Laois (Quality Assurance & Water Safety Planning), West Limerick GWS, Co. Limerick (Water Demand Management & Climate Action), and Mid Roscommon GWS, Co. Roscommon (Biodiversity Enhancement and Community Engagement [two categories]).

Speaking about the launch of this year’s awards, NFGWS CEO, Barry Deane, said:

The awards are not only a great way to recognise the hard work of those involved in overseeing, managing and operating GWSs, they also help promote the highest standards across the sector and raise greater awareness about the work of the scheme at local level.

The sense of pride among the 2021 winners was wonderful to see and hopefully we will be honouring even more excellence flag recipients at this year’s ceremony.

To enter, please download an application form here and return it to your local NFGWS Development Officer by email or post. More information on this year's awards can be found here and closing date for applications is 5pm on Friday 24th June.