2019 Annual Rural Water Services Conference

18th Annual Rural Water Services Conference - Enhancing resilience and sustainability in the group water scheme sector

The 2019 Annual Rural Water Services Conference was held on Thursday, 12th September 2019 in The Hodson Bay Hotel, Athlone.

To view the conference programme, click here

Presentations from the conference speakers are as follows:

Feargal Ó Coigligh, Assistant Secretary, Department of Housing, Planning & Local Government - Future Investment Needs for Rural Water

Michael O’Hora, Senior Engineer, Laois County Council - Improving Service Delivery to the Rural Water Sector

Dónal Daly, Catchment Scientist - Addressing Environmental Challenges through Source Protection

Dr Úna Fitzpatrick, National Biodiversity Data Centre - Opportunities to Enhance Biodiversity on Group Water Schemes

Patrick McCabe, Development Officer (Source Protection), NFGWS - NFGWS Source Protection Strategy Phase II - One year on

Managing for the Future
Dympna Skelton, Manager, Blackstairs GWS, County Wexford
Eddie Sheehan, Manager, West Limerick GWS, County Limerick

Progressing Rationalisation & Amalgamation
Adrian Smyth, Development Officer (Biodiversity), NFGWS
Tríona Collins, Rural Water Liaison Officer, Tipperary County Council

Dr Michelle Minihan, Senior Inspector, Office of Environmental Enforcement, EPA - Recast European Drinking Water Directive - Implications for GWS sector